Care Blog

The 5 Stages of Grieving

Everyone has a different experience while grieving and reaches each step at different times. For some, they may struggle reaching a stage or go backwards in stages. There are individuals who may always experience the stages of grief. It's important to understand that grieving isn't the same for everyone. The 5 stages of grieving are:
  1. Denial: this is the stage where an individual may be in shock and are in disbelief.
  2. Anger: this stage is important for an individual to experience while healing, this is a way of showing emotion to cope.
  3. Bargaining: this stage is often the "if only" time of reflection on the loved one.
  4. Depression: this stage can be the "empty" feeling and when an individual may disconnect from their surroundings.
  5. Acceptance: this stage is not the feeling of being "okay" with what happened, someone may never feel okay with it. Instead, this stage is when we as individuals accept the death as reality.
Be sure and know your resources for you and your loved ones. If you need help, seek for it in family and/or professional staff. Having a positive support system of people and resources is a great way to get through the 5 stages.

Call Us Today

Call us today to schedule a free in-home care assessment so we can help you understand how you or a loved one can have a safe and happy life at home.

Take the Quiz

Let us know what kind of help you might need, and we’ll be back in touch to customize a plan for you.

Take the Quiz